Discontinued App

Black Hornet (by James Sallis)

BLACK HORNET by James Sallis (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, ...

QR Scan this code with your mobile device to download this app

Description

BLACK HORNET by James Sallis (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below). A sniper appears in 1960s New Orleans, a sun-baked city of Black Panthers and other separatists. Five people have been fatally shot. When the sixth victim is killed, Lew Griffin is standing beside her. He's black and she's white, and though they are virtual strangers, it is left to Griffin to avenge her death, or at least to try and make some sense of it. His unlikely allies include a crusading black journalist, a longtime supplier of mercenary arms and troops, and bail bondsman Frankie DeNoux. Yet it is the character of Lew Griffin that takes center stage, as in each of Sallis's highly praised books. He is by now, in this prequel, well on the way to becoming what he will be; violent, kind, contradictory, alcoholic. Both naïve and wise, he is a man cursed by unspeakable demons, yet seemingly encircled by redemptive angels awaiting an opening. Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves. NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s narrator, G. Valmont Thomas. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here. •EXPERIENCE. About 4.5 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players. •PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap. •SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing. •CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average. •CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come. •OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed. •AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again. •TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed. •FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas. RATING: Suitable for adults who enjoy hard-boiled mysteries in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett ___________________ “Lew Griffin is the real thing, a cynic out of Celine or the Hemingway of In Our Time….This is powerful stuff…” (Booklist) “[A] vivid, focused portrayal of crime and the underlying racial tensions that can accompany it.” (Library Journal)

More

Technical specifications

Version: 2.4.2

Size: 113.04 MB

System:

Price: 8,92 €

Developed by Blackstone Audio, Inc

Day of release: 2011-01-5

Recommended age: 12+

Comments about Black Hornet (by James Sallis)

*We won´t use your data for marketing purposes, we only need to check your email

Do you know how to install the app?

Download Black Hornet (by James Sallis)

We use cookies to improve our services and tailoring our ads to match your requirements and navigation habits. Accept · Read more