Discontinued App

Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis)

EYE OF THE CRICKET by James Sallis (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see ...

QR Scan this code with your mobile device to download this app


EYE OF THE CRICKET by James Sallis (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below). Lew Griffin is a survivor, a black man in New Orleans, a detective, a teacher, a writer. Having spent years finding others, he has lost his son—and himself—in the process. Now, a derelict has appeared in a New Orleans hospital claiming to be Lewis Griffin and displaying a copy of one of Lew's novels. It is the beginning of a quest that will take Griffin into his own past while he tries to deal in the present with a search for three missing young men. Somewhere in the underbelly of the Crescent City, there are answers and more questions; there are threats and the promise of salvation; and there is a dangerous descent into the alcoholic haze that marked Griffin’s younger days, as well as the possibility of rising from it redeemed. Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves. NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s Earphones® Award-winning narrator, G. Valmont Thomas. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here. •EXPERIENCE. About 6.5 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players. •PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap. •SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing. •CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average. •CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come. •OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed. •AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again. •TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed. •FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas. RATING: Suitable for adults who enjoy hard-boiled mysteries in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett. ___________________ “Great scenes, great images, and great dialogue.” (Kirkus Reviews) “Vibrant surroundings, literate prose, and skillful and diverse characterizations. Highly recommended.” (Library Journal) “Sallis is one of the least conventional and most interesting writers working in the mystery genre….dazzling, poignant and totally satisfying.” (Publishers Weekly)


Technical specifications

Version: 2.4.2

Size: 157.01 MB


Price: $ 10.89

Developed by Blackstone Audio, Inc

Day of release: 2011-01-8

Recommended age: 17+

Comments about Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis)

*We won´t use your data for marketing purposes, we only need to check your email

Do you know how to install the app?

Download Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis)

We use cookies to improve our services and tailoring our ads to match your requirements and navigation habits. Accept · Read more